News

Wed 16/05/12
UNHQ is marking the International Year of Sustainability Energy for All in style.  As of May 2012, the vast bulk of electricity used at UNHQ in New York will be powered by renewable energy.
Tue 01/05/12
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has today released the findings of a two-year analysis of how peacekeeping missions around the world affect, and are affected by, natural resources and the broader environment.
Mon 23/04/12
The UN today launched its third annual ‘Moving Towards a Climate Neutral UN’ report, detailing the UN’s greenhouse gas emissions for 2010 and it’s ongoing efforts to measure and reduce them.   
Mon 16/04/12
A new report published by the Broadband Commission and supported by ITU and UNESCO has drawn attention to the important role of technology in achieving a low carbon future.
Tue 03/04/12
At 8.30pm on Saturday 31st March people all over the world turned out their lights as an act of symbolism to show what can be achieved when people come together to raise awareness of and tackle climate change.  This year’s Earth Hour is...
Fri 30/03/12
The UN will once again turn off its lights at Headquarters this Saturday, 31 March to mark Earth Hour, affording staff members at least an hour to consider new ways they can do things more sustainably, at home or in the office.  
Tue 20/03/12
Audio and video conferencing are often seen as ‘second- best' alternatives to meeting face to face, but when the WFP Ombudsman's office needed to reach staff in more than 30 countries to raise awareness on conflict and dispute resolution, there was...
Mon 19/03/12
Delegates attending the second intersessional meeting of the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development and the 2012 Regular Session of the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations might have noticed that the meetings used the UN's new...
Wed 14/03/12
This article by Catherine Karongo appeared in Capital News FM on 7th March 2012.
Tue 13/03/12
As Rio+20 approaches the UN is moving into full swing to prepare for the upcoming UN Conference on Sustainable Development, to be held in Rio de Janeiro from 20-22 June. Dan Shepard, from DPI’s Strategic Communications Division, talks about the work...
Syndicate content Subscribe to RSS Feed