News

Fri 15/07/11
The World Bank has earned Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Gold Certification for two of its Washington office buildings from the U.S. Green Building Council.
Wed 13/07/11
Once again, staff at the United Nations Office at Geneva (UNOG) participated in the Swiss nationwide “Bike to Work” initiative. The programme, which has existed in Switzerland since 2006, encourages participants to cycle at least part of the route...
Tue 12/07/11
Honour Nelson Mandela Day on Monday 18 July by devoting 67 minutes of your time to helping others. Nelson Mandela gave 67 years of his life fighting for the rights of humanity. By donating 67 minutes you can make a small gesture of solidarity with...
Sun 05/06/11
A team from Cyprus have been announced as the winners of 2011 Greening the Blue Photo Competition which has been run in collaboration with the UN Photographic Society to celebrate World Environment Day 2011. The winning entry, which shows a group of...
Tue 31/05/11
It has been nearly a year since Greening the Blue, the one-stop shop for UN staff with an interest in creating a more sustainable UN, was launched on World Environment Day. Over the past year the focus has been on creating awareness of the...
Tue 10/05/11
Participants at the United Nations Commission on Sustainable Development have made important progress on key issues such as mining, transport and waste management and a successful outcome is within reach, the commission’s chairman said today....
Mon 09/05/11
As part of the celebrations for World Environment Day 2011, Greening the Blue has launched its first online photo competition on sustainability at the UN, in collaboration with the UN Photographic Society. So if you fancy yourself as a photographer...
Mon 18/04/11
"It’s the little things citizens do. That’s what will make the difference. My little thing is planting trees. We need to promote development that does not destroy our environment". Nobel Peace Prize laureate Wangari Maathai, University of South...
Tue 05/04/11
It seems that delegates at the UN Climate Change conference in Thailand this week are getting a fast-track course in Greening the Blue. The conference, which is coordinated by UNFCCC, started on Sunday 3 April and runs until Friday 8 April. We'...
Thu 31/03/11
Report calculates the UN’s total CO₂ emissions and highlights efforts to reduce the organisation’s carbon footprintThe United Nations has released details of its greenhouse gas emissions for 52 institutions, covering 200,000 employees, in a new...
Syndicate content Subscribe to RSS Feed